Call Back Request
Start Your Free Online Visa Assessment or Call Now On 0203 675 3675

Tier 1 Visas

There are four divisions under the Tier 1 Points Based System (PBS) for UK immigration. The Tier 1 category is designed for non EEA nationals who are intending to work in the UK

Different to the rest of the tier immigration system, the Tier 1 visa application does not require any sponsors and is solely dependent on the applicant successfully meeting the minimum points threshold of 100.

Tier 1 visas are designed to attract the brightest and best individuals to the UK, and are unlike the Tier 2 visas which are also relevant to individuals who are setting up a long term business or looking to be employed by a particular company.

Also unlike the Tier 2 visa, the tier 1 does not require an offer of employment from a UK based company. The requirements for Tier 1 visas are based more around the points requirement of the old Highly Skilled Migrant Programme also known as the HSMP.

The Role of PBS in streamlining UK immigration
The Tier 1 category of the Points Based System (PBS) is directly replacing eight immigration categories from the previous system and has replaced them with a more streamlined four subdivisions. Excluding the Post Study Work category, any time spent in the UK will count towards the candidates minimum residency requirement of five years for the permanent settlement status within the United Kingdom.

Entrepreneurs Visa
The Entrepreneur category of the Tier 1 allows applicants to invest in the UK economy by starting or assuming control of a business. Potential applicants must also be involved in the day-to-day running of the company or business.

Investors Visa
The Investor category is designed for individuals who are going to make a substantial investment in the UK.

Post-study work Visa
The Post Study Work visa category of the Tier 1 subdivisions has been made as a transitional route to allow the most qualified non EEA nationals graduating from UK universities to change their Post Study work visa into another work visa. Candidates in the Tier 1 General, Investors, or Entrepreneur categories will initially be granted a three-year visa, with the option to extend the visa by a further two years if the requirements continue to be fulfilled.


Free assessment on your circumstances by a qualified specialist image
Application preperation & submission image
Dedicated OISC registered case worker image
Unlimited legal advice image
Unlimited face to face consultations image
Fixed fee for all applications image
Multi-lingual support image
Access to the online case management portal image
Regular updates on your case image